Assignment Three

Assignment Three

Draw an outdoor scene of your choice. Try to find a view that includes some natural objects. Also try to find a view that will allow you to demonstrate your understanding of aerial or linear perspective. Look for a view that offers an opportunity to draw straight lined objects as well as items drawn from nature.

(OCA Course Handbook, 2017)

I had a few ideas for a scene for this Assignment, including developing some of my work from earlier in this part of the course, in particular the view from a Study of a townscape using line, and of the views of the slipway, boat park and road that I sketched for the Aerial or atmospheric perspective exercise.

My initial idea that I thought about developing further, I tried roughly sketching, but I felt didn’t meet the specifications set in the assignment guidelines. I then had an idea of a particular scene I wanted to draw, that I felt fit with the following:

  • “A view that includes natural objects”
  • “a view that will allow you to demonstrate your understanding of aerial or linear perspective”
  • “a view that offers an opportunity to draw straight lined objects as well as items drawn from nature”
208--365---evening-visit-to-the-pub-with-my-besty_34662432590_o (Medium)

This was a photo that I’d taken earlier in the year from the same location. It didn’t look quite as bright when I went back this week.

I did a couple of quick sketches at the scene, and then took a few photos for reference as it unfortunately started to rain as I was sketching.

PSX_20171007_224147.jpg

After deciding that I liked this idea, I had a go at developing it in a line drawing in A4:

PSX_20171007_221104.jpg

I really liked this sketch in line, but didn’t feel like I had enough depth to the drawing, and thought when working in a larger scale charcoal would be a more suitable medium, as it would also allow me to keep to the times specified in the assignment notes: “you should spend anything up to two hours on this final drawing“. I didn’t feel like my pen drawing was anywhere near quick enough to attempt something like this in A2!

PSX_20171008_210304.jpg

I worked on grey /’moonstone’ coloured pastel paper, which I trimmed down to A2 size, and used a combination of willow charcoal, tinted charcoal pencils and a putty rubber for blending.

I tried to keep the final work to the time limit of two hours, but I am not completely happy with it as it is. I’m not sure whether this drawing could have been improved by using a different medium: my main reason for choosing charcoal was for it’s blending abilities, which I think worked with the huge areas of foliage in the scene, but was slightly problematic for the finer detail in the building and lamp on the bridge.

Leave a Reply

